Skip to main contentSkip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
20 under 40

2013 20 under 40 recipients named

  • Updated
  • 0

WATERLOO, Iowa --- The winners have been named for The Courier’s Class of 2013 20 Under 40 awards.

Twenty men and women who live and work in the Cedar Valley were selected by a committee, which sorted through more than 70 nominations in the 12-year-old award program.

In July, The Courier began seeking nominations for the award, which honors outstanding young people in the Cedar Valley who are making a difference in their work and personal lives to make the area a better place.

The individuals are featured in Cedar Valley Business Monthly magazine in November and then featured on a daily basis in The Courier beginning in December.

A reception for the winners is planned for 5:30 to 7 p.m. Nov. 19 at Hawkeye Community College's Tama Hall, 1501 E. Orange Road.

The winners are:

  • Angela Weekley, 39, manager of the Community Inclusion Department at Veridian Credit Union in Waterloo.
  • Kent McCausland, 37, executive vice president of PDCM Insurance in Waterloo.
  • Curtis DeGroote, 39, owner of and a long-standing community volunteer.
  • Tabatha Cruz, 27, program coordinator at the Center for Multicultural Education at the University of Northern Iowa.
  • Brian Hoyer, 23, owner of Recycle Rite in Cedar Falls.
  • Nate Clayberg, 38, executive director of Grow Buchanan County Economic Development in Independence.
  • Dan Levi, 39, owner of Levi Architecture in Cedar Falls.
  • Matthew Miehe, 30, commercial real estate agent with The Sulentic Fischels Commercial Group in Waterloo.
  • Scott Dewey, 39, owner of Retrieving Freedom Inc. in Waverly.
  • Eric O’Brien, 36, university sustainability coordinator at the University of Northern Iowa.
  • Nick Jedlicka, 32, director of Lakeview Lodge of Friendship Village, Waterloo.
  • Shawna Buckley, 37, vice president of retail banking at Community National Bank in Waterloo.
  • Tim Terhune, 35, managing partner/owner of Texas Roadhouse in Cedar Falls.
  • Jeff Kurtz, 39, director of Main Street Waterloo.
  • Doug Schwab, 36, wrestling coach at the University of Northern Iowa.
  • Hillary Anniss, 38, marketing coordinator at Hawkeye Community College.
  • Pat Grassley, 30, farmer and Iowa legislator, of New Hartford.
  • Nicole Recker, 27, director of operations at Boys & Girls Clubs of the Cedar Valley.
  • Katie Slade, 33, communications and development director at Exceptional Persons Inc. in Waterloo.
  • Lori Hoffman, 27, employee training and communications specialist at Cedar Falls Utilities.

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Listen now and subscribe: Apple Podcasts | Google Podcasts | Spotify | Stitcher | RSS Feed | Omny Studio

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News